Photography101: Weekend challenge -capturing motion

I am going to use some photos I have published before to show you my attempts at panning.  I think it was more luck than judgement that these came out, but I was pleased with the results. I used F5.6 for all of them. You can see the amount of blur depends on the shutter speed and it probably also depends on how fast you are panning. These subjects were not moving too fast so it was probably relatively easy to freeze their movement against the background.

Lord Mayor's show - 1/30th shutter speed

Lord Mayor’s show – 1/30th shutter speed

Lord Mayor's show - 1/40th shutter speed

Lord Mayor’s show – 1/40th shutter speed

Lord Mayor's show - 1/50th shutter speed

Lord Mayor’s show – 1/50th shutter speed

 

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

