Photography 101: Landscape

This is a subject I am happy with.  I am also happy with cropping – I rarely take a photo that doesn’t benefit from a small amount of cropping; it is amazing how you can change a photograph by doing this. In fact you can sometimes get more than one great image from a single snap!

What I am not always happy with is deciding what result looks best.

Here are a some photos I have taken recently showing before and after. Which do you prefer?

Original view of a landscape in the New Forest, Hampshire, UK.

Original view of a landscape in the New Forest, Hampshire, UK.

Cropped photo of same view. Does it lose something from the cropping or is it better?

Cropped photo of same view. Less sky, less foreground – less balanced?

Original photo of landscape in Scotland

Original photo of landscape in Scotland – too much foreground and sky?

Same photo cropped to show left half only

Same photo cropped to show left half only

Same photo cropped to show right side only

Same photo cropped to show right side only

 

4 thoughts on “Photography 101: Landscape

  1. Annette I like your original photo of the New Forest… It sets the ponies in the landscape and gives a really good overall impression of the scale of the place. There’s something about dividing the photo into thirds which really works too. One third sky and two thirds land looks great to me. I think you are right about the picture of Scotland/Sheep. It seems more of a holiday snapshot rather than a considered image. It’s not clear what the subject of your photo is because everything has equal value. Your third photo is much better. We can see the sheep and some of the details of the landscape and the diagonal line of the wall adds interest too.

    Like

    • Thank you for these interesting comments. I also preferred the first photo before I messed with it, but I tried it anyway for the course. You are so right about the sheep photo. It was actually taken on an organised walk so no time to consider it at all. I think it did improved with cropping. I noticed the wall after cropping – I am beginning to learn the importance of these lines.

      Like

Please leave a comment - I would love to hear from you.

